Memory – Conclusion

This little project basically enabled me to come to terms with prosopagnosia, from knowing nothing about it, to becoming fairly educated around the subject. It was also the first time I ever used a Canon 5D for the project as well as the Zoom H4N voice recorder, equipment that was completely new to me (thanks to the loanshop). The mugging scene in the park was the best thing I have shot and directed (a storyboard really helped) for a long time thanks to the depth of field and cinematic capabilities of the 5D, the overall results looked stunning raw and even better post-production. I’ve always suffered from not-so-great looking footage due to average cameras but the 5D gives me motivation and incentive to make more beautiful looking films. There were a few obstacles in the way during production, for example the attempted mugging that was shot around a cash machine caused a few problems directing. I couldn’t really direct it as much as I had hoped to get nice looking shots but was forced to do it as quickly as possible as the general public was getting in the way; for the future I could look for a better location and perhaps shoot at an earlier time. During the 3min duration of the film I performed a great deal of cuts, colour correction, sound editing and multiple exports – but I kept asking myself if so much effort was worth it for an artefact, well yes it was, the process was very enjoyable and the outcome was satisfying. Advanced sound editing/mixing is not my speciality so it was not as perfect as I hoped; it is something that I would really enjoy more training. Overall my idea was sound, but since my preference lied with the other idea a great deal more I will re-make that whenever possible.

Leave a Reply

