Professional Practice Portfolio Form

Professional Practice Portfolio Form

 

1. Vision:
What makes this business exciting and the right business to be in at this point in time?

Filmmaking is exciting because it is creative. Being a creative person in nature I am able to express my stories and visions through moving images. Specifically I am an editor and a colourist – I believe this gives me the highest opportunity of creating or altering a story through the editing and grading process. I can change the pace and flow of the film with my edits as well as the look and feel of the piece with my colour.

 

2. Business Objectives:
The short, medium and long term criteria by which you will measure your success. SMART objectives: specific, measurable, achievable, realistic, time-constrained.

Main objective: to become a media professional in the post-production sector of Film, TV and other video forms.

Specific: Working in post-production Film & TV with the roles of an editor (or assistant editor to begin my career in this sector), colourist, titles creation and/or sound design.

Measurable: I can measure the progress of my objective based on the amount of films/shows (short/feature) I get to edit. I can edit for free too IF the project is worth it (e.g. shot on a red, fantastic story/visuals, potential in film festivals) just to strengthen my portfolio. The amount of work I do measures on how closely I get to my desired objective.

Achievable: Being a perfectionist and loving post-production since starting my course in year 1 means I know exactly what I want to be doing and heading with my acquired set of skills.

Realistic: Very possible to find starting work upon graduation as an assistant editor and slowly working my way up in the industry based on my work. I have a portfolio and showreel to demonstrate my talented and desirable skills.

Time-constrained: As soon as I finish university I will register myself on professional networking sites such as ShootingPeople/StarNow and advertise my services to the media world. I will then apply to edit or assist in the edit of as many professional short/feature films as I can.

 

3. Products and services:
What are you going to sell and how? What are the benefits of using you over your competitors? What might stop people using you?

I am going to sell my post-production services: film editing and colour grading through ShootingPeople/StarNow/other professional networks. Benefits of me is that I have my own unique editing style which I believe makes a film far superior – this can be seen on my film showreel – specific scenes and edits. People can also see my grading and think, wow, I want this guy to do my work. People might not use me because of my prices or the fact that I am charging people for work when I am trying to establish myself.

 

4. The market(s) for your business:
What evidence do you have that your product/service fills a defined need?

I believe that a specifically edited showreel will convince people to use my services – to demonstrate my editing I will showcase an array or sequence of scenes/edits – this is done to demonstrate my editing rather than the camerawork. To show my grading I will showcase a showreel based on showing the before and after of a ungraded and graded shot. There are so many films that are in development, and each one needs a good editor.

 

5. Promotion and communication:
What is your broad concept and USP? What market segments will you target and what is your strategy for reaching your target audiences? How will you protect your position?

The amount of media content that is being created is gradually increasing – an editor will always be required. Editors will always be available, but the best editor will always be desired. People always praise the editing/colour of any work that I showcase – it is my strongest point. I will advertise my services on professional networks with my smart portfolios and possibly win awards at festivals to strengthen my name and repuation. Constantly working on projects will protect me as an editor – as long as I have a project, I can work towards increasing and developing my skills to levels that rival a genius.

 

6. Organisation:
What kind of business will you be? What external skills do you need to bring to your business? How will you source them?

It is a freelance business. When I get work I will do it, but (most likely) due to high level request and a lengthy amount of time require to edit films I will always have a work available. External skills may be required in the form of an assistant editor to organise my workflow as I edit, but more important powerful hardware for the highest level of efficiency. First year students are always looking for experience – I will be able to provide that. Powerful hardware I will have to buy myself, or be sponsored by a company or other professional – being noticed will help a lot.

 

7. Funding and finance:
What resources do you need to start and develop your business? How will you find it? How will you manage your finances?

Money for the best possible post-production equipment needed for editing/grading:

DaVinci Resolve Full by Blackmagic Design – for powerful and delicate colour grading – http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/davinciresolve ($29,995)

Mac Pro by Apple Computers – for fast and efficient editing and export of video to clients – http://www.apple.com/uk/macpro/ (£20,000)

Nvidia Quadro 4000 for Mac by Nvidia – allowing this powerful GPU to work with x3 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon’s for unrivalled post-processing power – http://www.nvidia.com/object/product-quadro-4000-mac-us.html ($700)

Top Spec MacBook Pro for portability by Apple Computers – for portability and capturing video quickly and efficiently for clients on set – http://www.apple.com/uk/macbook-pro/ (£3000)

However a Top Spec Macbook Pro or iMac (£3000 each) will suffice. Funding can be secured by proposing a careful business plan to a bank. Most likely I will be self-funded and based on the amount of work I do and get paid to do, I will upgrade my equipment. It is a good thing that my list of resources as an editor is minimal.

 

8. Risk management:
What kinds of things can wrong with your plans? What strategies have you got to minimize or overcome those risks?

The worst possible scenario is no-one will require my services, but I very much doubt that. I can get sick of editing, but I doubt that again. Worst case scenario for me is that I will be lazy and slack off and not be pro-active in terms of finding a job. To overcome this risk I have a partner who motivates me much more than I can ever imagine. With him, I can only improve my ability rather than anything going wrong. As long as we work together this business can flourish and develop into something big and renown.

 

9. Future plans:
What is the lifespan of this business? How will it grow and how will you make that happen? What is your exit strategy?

Forever. The editing business will last as long as I am interested in film/TV post-production. Films will always be made and editors will always be required, the better editors, however, will be the ones that are more desired. I will grow by editing films and adding to my portfolio, the better and high-level films is what will make my production company more famous. I will eventually want to retire being the director of my production company that hosts many post-production editors working under my name.

Leave a Reply

